Discuss as:

How to find out who unfriended you on Facebook

We've shown you how to try Facebook's new profile page — also known as the "Timeline" — right now, but did you know that it's more than just a pretty design? It can be used to find out exactly which of your friends quietly unfriended you at some point.

This clever trick was discovered by the folks at Buzzfeed (who we hear skipped work to spend the whole day playing around with Timelines) and it's pretty simple.

All you have to do after enabling Timeline on your Facebook account is pick a random year and scroll down until you find a "Friends" box.

Facebook

Once you've found one of those boxes, click on the "Made [some number] New Friends" text.

You'll see a little pop-up with a list of the friends you made at that particular point in time. If you're still friends with a person, the button next to his or her name will say "Friends." But if you're not? Then the button will say "Add Friend" instead.

Busted!

Facebook

Of course it's worth noting that the people who have an "Add Friend" button might not have unfriended you — instead they might've been the victims of your friend list purge.

Related stories:

Want more tech news, silly puns, or amusing links? You'll get plenty of all three if you keep up with Rosa Golijan, the writer of this post, by following her on Twitter, subscribing to her Facebook posts, or circling her on Google+.